My favorite piece of literature from this class would have to be “The Death of Ivan Ilyich”. I’ve learned so much from the other works but this one stood out to me the most. This story was amazing to me because although this was written so long ago, we can still find characters like this in our own lives and even in yourself. This story made me reflect on my own morals and values as well as analyzing the company in which I keep. I could put myself in Ivan’s shoes. I too got caught up in keeping up the end crowed. I too have been surround by people who only hung out with me because of how I looked or what they thought I had. I too have played the selfish role of the other characters and only thought about my feelings and how I would come out of a situation. I love that the author Leo Tolstoy makes his readers reflect on their own life through his writing.

